Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: REFWORKS
Getting Started
Training Workshops
Important RefWorks Tools
Import Instructions

RefWorks FAQs


Other citation managers:

Zotero

EndNote


DELTA Eval

 

RefWorks: Resources and Information

Librarian: Josh Wilson

RefWorks is free for NCSU users. New users need to create an account: follow the access link below, then follow the link to Sign Up For An Individual Account.

Access RefWorks here:

RefWorks


Questions? Use the links below or Ask Us.

Other citation management software:


Training Workshops

Training workshops for RefWorks are offered by the Libraries in conjunction with the Instructional Services unit of DELTA. Sessions are held in the ITTC Computer Labs (2nd Floor, East Wing, D. H. Hill Library). Register for sessions online through DELTA.

Next session: Scheduled for Spring 2010. Check back soon for exact dates.

PPT slides and exercises from other training sessions:


Two RefWorks Tools you want to know about

Install either of these through the Tools menu within RefWorks.

Tool/Uses

Short demo videos
(no sound; open in new window)

Write-N-Cite

Enables you to incorporate citations into your paper while you write. Automatically generates a bibliography when you're done.

(More info/help)

Demo video (no sound; opens in new window):

RefWorks screencast

RefGrab-It

(1) Captures web pages and
(2) enables direct exporting of references from databases that otherwise do not support direct export.

(More info/help)

 

Demo video coming soon


Instructions: Importing from a Text File/Exporting from a Data Service

[Check the RefWorks web site for additional information]

Basic Procedure

  1. Search the database of interest
  2. Save the references in the appropriate format
  3. Log into RefWorks
  4. Select References/Import from the toolbar
  5. Select the appropriate data source and database
  6. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer
  7. Click Import
  8. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder

Note: An increasing number of database vendors are providing a "direct export" of files into RefWorks. These are noted below. Also check out RefGrab-It to simplify exporting and capture web pages.

Data Service/ Vendor
Importing/Downloading Instructions
ABC-CLIO
[Ex. America: History and Life; Historical Abstracts
From the search results page select Export Options. On the next page choose Full Entry. Then select the United States radio button next to the RefWorks icon. Click Export Records to initiate a direct export.
CSA
[Ex. Sociological Abstracts; Biology Digest]
Select items, then use the Direct Export feature - click on the RefWorks link.
EBSCOhost
[Ex. Academic Search Premier; Agricola; ERIC]
Direct Export: move items to folder -- From within folder select items and click on Export (white paper icon) -- then select radio button for Direct Export to RefWorks, click on Save.
EI Engineering Village 2 Select Format and click on Download.
Google Scholar Supports direct exporting once you set preferences: select RefWorks as the default in the Bibliography Manager area. Then look for 'Import into RefWorks' links in search results.
IEEE/IEE Xplore Select the records you want, then click on view selected items, on the next page change format to citation and abstract and select RefWorks for direct export.
ISI
[Ex. Web of Science, BIOSIS Previews, Derwent, Zoological Record]
Check the references you want and Add to Marked List. View the Marked List. Check any extra fields you want saved (such as abstracts), choose the Save to File button (leave the options as Field Tagged, and Other Reference Software). In RefWorks, select ISI (Institute for Scientific Information) as the data source and specify which database you used.
JSTOR Save citations of interest. Click View Saved Citations and choose Directly Export citations into RefWorks as the export option.
LexisNexis Supports direct exporting (you'll need to allow pop-ups). In search results, check boxes next to records you want to save, and click the Export (book) icon.
MathSciNet Add all citations of interest to the Clipboard. When ready to export, go to the Clipboard. Select the Citations (BibTeX) format and click SaveClip. Highlight the generated text and copy (Edit--Copy) in the browser. In RefWorks, select BibTex as the data source, then MathSciNet as the database. Select the Import Data from the following Text option and paste the text from the MathSciNet page (Edit--Paste) into that box.
ProQuest Mark references of interest. When viewing My Research (marked items) use export citations option. There is an "export directly to RefWorks option". Known issue: direct exporting does not work off campus. Instead, choose "Download in a format compatible with...RefWorks". Save output as a text file (File - Save As or Save Page As). In RefWorks, choose RIS Format as the data source and the database.
PubMed Mark the references of interest. Change the Display option from Summary to MEDLINE and click the Display button. In the Send To area, select Text and click Send To. Select Save As from your browser and select Text as the Save As file type. In RefWorks, select NLM PubMed as the data source and as the database.
SciFinder Scholar

Mark the references of interest. Choose Export (in client version, choose Save As), and Save with Tagged format (*.txt) as the file type. In RefWorks, select CAS Scifinder as the data source and CAPlus as the database.

SilverPlatter WebSPIRS
[Ex. Biological Abstracts]

Save Complete records, with Record number checked and Short Labels selected. In RefWorks, select SilverPlatter WebSPIRS as the data source and select the appropriate database.
Web of Science See ISI entry in this table.
Web sites Use RefGrab-It.

Librarian Contact Information


Warning: ldap_bind() [function.ldap-bind]: Unable to bind to server: Can't contact LDAP server in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 6

Warning: ldap_search() [function.ldap-search]: Search: Can't contact LDAP server in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 9

Warning: ldap_sort() expects parameter 2 to be resource, boolean given in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 10

Warning: ldap_get_entries(): supplied argument is not a valid ldap result resource in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 11
No results.
   
NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University