Skip to Quick Links BarSkip to Page Content
NCSU Libraries
Search the Collection
Browse Subjects
Services
Library Information
Community
News & Events
Browse Subjects
Get Answers Now

Home: REFWORKS
Getting Started
Training Workshops
Important RefWorks Tools
Import Instructions

RefWorks FAQs


Other citation managers:

Zotero

EndNote


DELTA Eval

 

zotero

Zotero is a browser-based citation management tool developed at George Mason University. Its basic purpose and functionality is similar to RefWorks, but instead of tracking your citations in a web database, it works as a Firefox browser extension, saving citations locally on your computer, and making your citations available from any computer by syncing.

To see a helpful introductory video on Zotero, visit the Zotero website.

View an introductory video

Installation:

  • Install through the Zotero website
  • After installation, NCSU users should set local preferences:
    • Open the Zotero pane by clicking the Zotero link on the bottom of the browser screen.
    • Click the Actions icon (the gear icon) and click Preferences.
    • In the General tab, near the bottom, is box for OpenURL preferences. Change the resolver link to http://sfx.lib.ncsu.edu/ncsu
    • This will make it easier to get back to saved articles.
  • It is strongly recommended you register for a Zotero account to enable syncing (and other functions, such as groups).

Some common questions:


Here is a screenshot of Zotero in use. The Zotero pane is open along the bottom of the browser screen, where you can access your folders and citations. You can open and close the Zotero pane while working. Notice the small blue book icon in the URL bar. Clicking that icon adds the book to Zotero.

Zotero screenshot

The browser-based approach has advantages and disadvantages. The following chart compares the two.

RefWorks vs. Zotero

Factor

RefWorks

Zotero

Advantage

Cost

Free to NCSU community

Free to everyone

Tie for NCSU community

Browser independence

Works with any browser

Firefox browser required

Tie for Firefox users, RefWorks for others

Ability to access citations from any computer

Saved citations available from any computer via NCSU Libraries' site

Latest version has a sync function, so your citations are available from any computer

Tie

Basic citation capturing

Requires exporting and importing, sometimes in two separate steps, new windows

Works within browser on same page, maybe some manipulation and organization

Unclear. Zotero is often a little quicker, but probably not enough to sway experienced RefWorks users. Speed also depends on the citation source.

Capturing websites

Yes, with RefGrab-It extension

Yes, by default

Zotero does this easily, without any additional installation. But both work.

Breadth of compatible databases

No advantage for either, but this is difficult to evaluate, and may depend on the databases you use regularly. Both have extensive lists of sites and databases they work with (RefWorks | Zotero). Both cover all major databases. RefWorks' list is longer, but Zotero could be considered more robust since it isn't necessarily limited to what's on its compatibility list. As long as information looks like a citation, Zotero can grab it. On the other hand, RefWorks can also handle some non-standard citations with a little formatting effort by the user. And you can edit citations with either.

Annotations

Yes, but clunky

Yes, easy with snapshots, tags

Zotero

Folder management

Works, clunky

Less clunky, allows for subfolders

Neither is great. But Zotero wins.

Revisiting articles

Yes, through SFX. Also have the option of attaching a file to references.

Yes, by link or SFX

Tie

Revisiting books

Provides link via SFX

Yes, saves NCSU Libraries catalog record

Zotero is a little smoother since it usually saves a library catalog record.

Bibliography creation

Yes

Yes

RefWorks (more options and styles available by default)

Integration with Word

Yes, through Write-N-Cite

Yes

Tie

Sharing citations

Yes: create read-only logins or a shared account. You can also easily export your citations and send to others for importing.

Yes: through Groups. You can also easily export your citations and send to others for importing.

Tie

Stability

Citations are secure and stable, since they are saved on the RefWorks server.

Possible more volatile, since citations are saved on your own computer. But there are syncing options to save online, and you can backup your library.

RefWorks by default, but Zotero has options to ensure you won't lose your work.

Overall: Both are good products, and recommended over proprietary software such as EndNote. It really comes down to which interface you prefer. Zotero is probably the best and easiest option for users comfortable with Firefox. Users may prefer the full-screen RefWorks interface.

Want to know more about Zotero? Contact Josh Wilson, view the video tutorials or read other help on the Zotero site.

 


Librarian Contact Information


Warning: ldap_bind() [function.ldap-bind]: Unable to bind to server: Can't contact LDAP server in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 6

Warning: ldap_search() [function.ldap-search]: Search: Can't contact LDAP server in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 9

Warning: ldap_sort() expects parameter 2 to be resource, boolean given in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 10

Warning: ldap_get_entries(): supplied argument is not a valid ldap result resource in /var/www/live/htdocs/guides/includes/contact.php on line 11
No results.
   
NCSU Libraries Copyright | Disclaimer | Accessibility | Text Only | Contact Us | Staff Only NC State University